Macy Gray and me..

When you add up all the atoms
and sweep up all the leaves
and the last guitar weeps
come look for me in the neighborhood
where I’m cooking with colloquial
chowderheads

I am a heart carved in some hipster
latte foam

A t-shirt with the name of a summer camp
on it

we’re all in a land of make believe
alive and dreaming of sequin serenades
and whispered secrets from a swan

I used to listen to Macy Gray
I used to walk in the rain
now it’s dirty jokes and overcoats
and life sentences that run on
when the atom bomb falls
I’ll leave one last rap
to combust in the ether
turn coward squirrels into
nut-chomping believers…

Leave a Reply

