Underwater Somersault

Down in the deep end.
Submerged like a baby thought.
Encased in silence and water.

Floating, like a debt,
like a blank check,
like a dead pet.

Come swoop me out,
like leaves after the storm,
leave me alone and I’ll drift
on a raft with a beer can in the hole,
till the sun goes away
and the moon frozen grey
rotates in the chlorinated haze.

I close my eyes, take the plunge,
pretend I’m an astronaut,
spinning in slow circles in
my anti-gravity palace,
my womb, wet room,
my dripping cavity.
This summer salt,
underwater somersault.

One thought on “Underwater Somersault

Leave a Reply

