Pour Cement Into My Mouth

Pour cement into my mouth.
I have nothing more to say.
Bring this freeway to a stop.
Stand on your car and shout.
I have nothing more to say.
Dear lord, bring me home.
Bring me freshly dug graves.
Bring me pies and lullabies.
I have nothing more to say.
Run the rats out of the house.
Drain my lungs of oxygen.
Dry-clean the Shroud of Turin.
Dance on all holy, sacred land.
I have nothing more to say.
Cry for every disgraced hero.
Drink the glowing absinthe.
Plant ten marijuana plants.
Make a movie of my pitiful life.
Freeze your cellphone dead.
I have nothing more to say.
Ostracize the mean hearts.
Compel the saints to return.
Listen to the morning birds.
Sing with the mourning birds.
Remove day 32 from your diary.
Put lipstick on, kiss the mirror.
I have nothing more to say.
Strangle your lingering gaze.
Punch me in my Facebook.
Wear a pair of Mickey Mouse ears.
Tear down your white mansion.
Pull apart the puzzle pieces.
Give up sucking green lollipops.
Reinvent your eternal surrender.
I have nothing more to say.
Burn down the last shrine.
Write all the way to the fringe.
Cover my lips with plastic wrap.
Chop down Buddha’s Bodhi tree.
Build a sailboat in the desert.
Sleep on a tattered mattress.
Shave your neighing billy goat.
Grow back your lizard tail.
I have nothing more to say.

In a cold country
you must knit a warm flag
and wear it like a shawl.

16 responses to “Pour Cement Into My Mouth

  1. I love this. The repetition, the surprising (even shocking) images — a punch in the face! But the last stanza cadences it all.

  2. very powerful and cool…

  3. aos, that is intense and completely captivating, so it draws me in as i read and its sort of this ‘cant stop to
    blink’ moment-totally all there

  4. speechless you left me.. have nothing more to say!

  5. Wonderful Imagery…I loved it so…I have nothing more to say 🙂 oxo

  6. images that leave me breathless..emotionally powerful writing!

  7. I like the repetition of “I have nothing more to say.”

  8. That was a hurricane of a poem covering so much ground in moving lines.

  9. so much said in nothing more to say… I liked this. Heartspell

  10. heavy…I like it!

  11. hope that you do find time visiting poets back,

    Happy July 4th!

  12. Very sad that a lot of people feel this way but that just makes the poem that much more powerful, well done.

  13. This was stunning. Like a fountain of (great) imagery, and the closing lines were the perfect finish.

  14. this is really funny and entertaining.. i like it! 🙂

  15. and i love the title of the poem too! really cool!!

  16. http://itistimetothinkformyself.blogspot.com/2010/07/pinks-in-6-words-i-wish-u-award-winning.html

    6 awards,
    please feel free to take any of them
    Smiles!

    ignore if you dislike them.

Leave a Reply

