My Presidential Choice: 3 of them

Human history goes a long way back I’ve been told.

Our travels have taken us from painted caves to the Louve. From marsh fields to Marshalls. Our societies have evolved and grown and splintered into many ideologies from divine rule to the electoral college, from nation-states to desert tribes, yet the common thread linking them all is that we humans insist on selecting one and only one individual from our ranks to be the “leader”.

If someone could correct me and inform me of an example where a society was run by a group of individuals as opposed to just one dude or dudette I’d love to hear of it.

When the idea that perhaps we’d be better off with leadership by committee crossed my mind I immediately consider that attaining a consensus could be difficult and disasterous, but disregarded that by realizing that the various leaders could perside over different functions of the government.

In a sense, we already do this, except we run an election to chose one man, sorry ladies – I’d vote for ya, nevertheless, one man to then select his various cabinet advisors and such; the Brownies of the world.

What a fucking asanine system. Big Brother has a better method for awarding power. At least Head of Household changes hands every other week. We’ve been stuck with this prick for 6 years now.

I’m with Bill Maher when he says we need more elites in government, not less.

And I’m not talking your Yosemite Sam, pistol waving, oil tycoon, I-made-a-shit-load-of-money-so-now-I-think-I-own-the-world elites; but scientists, historians, economists, philosophers, professor elites.

People with experience and knowledge at what they’re in charge of.

No cronies.

Alberto Gonzalez forgetting what he had for breakfast is not what the founding fathers had in mind. A once-respectable Colin Powell selling his soul on the floor of the United Nations is not what the founding fathers had in mind. Scooter fucking Libby getting handed a get out of jail free card from George W. is certainly not what the founding fathers had in mind.

And who are these dudes, the founding fathers? and why do we still care so much what the hell they wanted?

No, I’m serious.

For the people of the United States, respect for their own heritage is undoubtedly a source of strength and stability. It helped them endure the upheaval of four dreadful years of civil war which cost the lives of three percent of the population. It also kept the United States from succumbing to darkness in its domestic affairs, even during those times that the authority of the Supreme Court was ignored.

In the 220 years of its history, the American republic has not always been a model – but it overcame break-downs like the Great Depression in the 1930s without succumbing to the temptation of totalitarianism; it overcame McCarthyism in the post-war era; and it will overcome the damage that the present President has done to its basic values and fundamental rights.

And while it is a pillar of American democracy, that healing strength that is founded in the cult of the founding fathers has a rather peculiar consequence: The intentions of these political actors of two centuries ago are the ultimate touchstone for conditions in the United States today; and to this day it is this backward-perspective that to a great extent influences America’s perceptions of the rest of the world.

Maybe the founding fathers weren’t all that great?

Maybe they actually wanted to set up a power stucture that could be contained by a few priveleged men. I mean, hell, they were more blatant about it than we are today. Remember, the founding fathers would have had Colin Powell in a collar and Hillary was permitted to be beaten as long as the stick was smaller than Bill’s thumb and couldn’t vote much less run for president.

Can’t we move pass the idea of electing a tribal chief to lead the 300 million of us, hand-picking the people in charge of our military, schools, justice department, rivers and sky, our borders, and our courts. The lucky devil even gets to light our national Christmas tree every year.

Isn’t this mindstate a little antiquated?

I say we elect three presidents at least, and here are my choices.

  • Bill Richardson: Foreign Affairs
  • Al Gore: Environment Protection
  • Barak Obama: Domestic Affairs

And we should hold elections for those other positions, things like FEMA, Dept. of Education, etc..

Sure, it may sound like a clusterfuck, but could it be worse than the Bushes and the Clintons tossing the ball back and forth. I don’t know how it’s going to happening but I got a feeling we are going to have a woman president in 08′. I’m cool with that, but I just got to wonder if there isn’t something fishy in the Potomac. There’s something creepy about Bill and George Senior yucking it up these days. Something dubious in their knee slaps and warm smiles.

As if they have a secret plan to split the world.

I think the whole system is screwy, and not just ours, but all of them; all of them throughout time have been corrupted by the power they bestoy upon themselves.

The Queen won’t even take off her crown for Annie Leibovitz.

In 2007, bitch, Annie Leibovitz deserves more respect than you, she’s got talent, all you did in life was pop out of a lucky hole and stick your nose up in the air ever since. Fuck you, remove you tiara, you spoiled brat.

Wow, I really don’t know where that came from.

I don’t have anything against the Queen of England, really. I was just making a point, a rather loud point maybe, but sometimes you need to smash a window to get someone to notice the blight.

My point is: we should elect and follow those with merit, not just those who’ve merely been granted fortunate last names.

The light is coming up now, a dog is barking down the road. If I don’t shut off the computer now and go to bed I might start rambling about revolution like a drunken communist in a Dostoyevsky novel.

Are those birds I hear or the chirp of car doors being opened and alarms being set? Words start to blur on the screen as the sun, a spiked pickled fruit, obliterates my mind as I start to drifting off into another place…

I loaf and invite my soul,
I lean and loaf at my ease observing a spear of summer grass.
— Walt Whitman

But not which niece

Leave a Reply

